09 October 2023

The Success of the 3rd National Physical Disability T-20 Cricket Championship

The 3rd National Physical Disability T-20 Cricket Championship, organized by Narayan Seva Sansthan in the picturesque city of Udaipur, commenced with a vibrant start. The championship not only brought together differently-abled cricketers from 24 states but also witnessed the gracious presence of esteemed individuals who added significance to the event. Let’s delve into the highlights of this remarkable journey.


Brand Ambassador Harbhajan Singh

Harbhajan Singh is renowned for his fierce competitiveness on the cricket field and his generous spirit off it. As the brand ambassador for DCCI-Narayan Seva Sansthan’s 3rd National Physical Disability T20 Championship 2023, he brought his unwavering support and star power to the event.


Trophy Unveiling by BCCI:

The championship kicked off with a spectacular trophy unveiling ceremony at the iconic Goa International Cricket Stadium. BCCI President Roger Binny and Secretary Jay Shah unveiled the prestigious trophy for the 3rd National Divyang Cricket Tournament further emphasizing the importance of this event in promoting physically challenged cricket. Their participation underscored the significance of the championship and highlighted the support of the larger cricket community. The gleaming trophy symbolized the dreams and aspirations of all participating teams, sparking their competitive zeal.


Grand Inauguration in Udaipur:

Udaipur witnessed a grand inauguration ceremony, radiating enthusiasm and unity. Eminent guests and dignitaries from various fields graced the occasion, including Founder Mr. Kailash ‘Manav,’ co-founder Kamala Devi, President Prashant Agarwal, Director Vandana Agarwal, Secretary of DCCI Mr. Ravikant Chauhan, Joint Secretary Mr. Abhay Pratap Singh, and President of PCCAI, among others. Their collective presence marked the beginning of a momentous event.


Dignitaries and Guests:

The ceremony further garnered prestige with the presence of several dignitaries, such as Mr. Surendra Lohia, Treasurer of Hyderabad Cricket Association, Mr. Surendra Kumar Agarwal, DCCI Operations Director Shri Nitendra Singh, Divisional Commissioner Shri Rajendra Bhatt, Sports Officer Ajit Jain, UDCA President Manoj Bhatnagar, Vice President Yashwant Paliwal, UDCA Joint Secretary Prakash Jain, Union Bank of India Regional Officers Chief (DGM) Shri Sarang A Zanzad, and Manager Punjab National Bank Shri Surendra Kumar. Their presence emphasized the widespread support and recognition this championship had garnered.


Union Minister’s Encouragement:

On the third day of the championship, Union Jal Shakti Minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat arrived to inspire and uplift the spirits of disabled cricketers. Institute President Prashant Aggarwal extended a warm welcome to the Union Minister on stage, providing an opportunity for him to meet these exceptional athletes and wish them a bright and successful future.


Honorable Smt. Pratima Bhaumik’s Spirit:

The honorable Smt. Pratima Bhaumik, Minister of State in the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, brought her indomitable spirit to the 3rd National Physical Disability Cricket Championship, emphasizing the government’s commitment to inclusivity and empowerment.


Jay Shah’s Equipment Contribution:

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah made a significant contribution by providing state-of-the-art equipment, including high-quality cricket balls, precision-engineered wickets, sturdy stumps, and other essentials. His support and commitment to maintaining the highest standards of play were commendable.


PUMA: The Equipment Partner

PUMA, a globally recognized brand, played a pivotal role in the championship as the equipment partner. Their contribution included providing high-quality PUMA shoes to selected players, ensuring that they were well-equipped for intense competition.


FanCode: A Digital Sports Experience

FanCode, India’s premier digital sports destination, offered a highly personalized live cricket streaming experience of the championship for all fans. It provided comprehensive coverage of the championship, including extensive sports content and in-depth statistics, using a network of 12 cameras to capture every thrilling moment.


Sponsorship and Support:

The championship received invaluable support from dedicated sponsors who recognized its significance. “Svayam India,” a global nonprofit initiative working towards dignity for people with reduced mobility, played a pivotal role. They not only facilitated the participation of all the teams but also generously provided prize money of Rs. 11,000 for the ‘Men of the Match.’ The esteemed IPL franchise, Rajasthan Royals, has been committed to promoting inclusivity in differently-abled sports for a long time. Rajasthan Royals provided winning money of Rs. 5 lac, 3 lac, 1 lac, and other gift hampers.


Narayan Seva Sansthan’s Pivotal Role:

As the gracious host of this championship, Narayan Seva Sansthan played a vital role in ensuring the tournament’s seamless organization. The NGO went above and beyond, providing accommodations, meals, transportation, electricity, sound, and field management at the cricket grounds and all the important things for the tournament and all the 400 players. Their dedication to inclusivity and teamwork sets a shining example.


The Finals & Winners

The finals of the 3rd National Physical Disability T-20 Cricket Championship witnessed a riveting battle of skills and determination, culminating in a magnificent victory for the Jammu & Kashmir team. This electrifying match showcased the resilience and talent of differently-abled cricketers.

The journey to the finals was no less exciting, with thrilling semi-final clashes featuring teams from Vidarbha, Jammu & Kashmir, Maharashtra, and Mumbai. All four semi-finalist teams displayed outstanding talent and determination.

The grand finale between the Jammu & Kashmir and Mumbai teams lived up to the standards of other legendary cricket matches, epitomizing the tenacity and sportsmanship that are the cornerstones of the game.


The Closing Ceremony:

The championship concluded in grandeur with a closing ceremony graced by the presence of the Chief Business Officer of IPL team Rajasthan Royals, Mr. Alok Chitre, and the Inspector General of CID, Mr. Ajay Singh. Their attendance added prestige to the event, underscoring its significance.


Awards and Recognition:

At the ceremony, the first semi-finalist Vidarbha received 1 lac, the second semi-finalist Maharashtra received 1 lac, and runner-up Mumbai received 3 lacs. Winners of the 3rd National Physical Disability T-20 Cricket Championship Jammu & Kashmir received 5 lacs, which was offered by the Rajasthan Royals. Special awards and accolades were presented to standout players, including miniature cricket bats signed by Rajasthan Royals players. Wasim from Jammu & Kashmir was named the ‘Man of the Series’ and received a Hero Scooter sponsored by DCCI Joint Secretary Mr. Abhay Pratap Singh. The championship’s impact extended beyond the cricket field, inspiring individuals and communities to recognize the potential within every person, regardless of their abilities.

The 3rd National Physical Disability T-20 Cricket Championship was not just a series of cricket matches but a celebration of the human spirit, unity, and boundless potential. It showcased the profound impact of sports on fostering inclusivity and empowerment. As we reflect on this inspiring event, let us cherish the role of cricket, both in matches and as a medium of inclusion, in fostering a sense of belonging and camaraderie that is unmatched in the world of sports.